Quote of the day

December 24, 2008

Gluten-Free Hams & Turkeys

As we were defrosting our turkey for Christmas Eve it reminded me that people new to the gluten-free diet might not know to check if the turkey or ham is gluten-free. The glaze or preservatives can contain gluten. If you are going to someone's house you may be concerned about whether the meat contains gluten. Here are just a couple that can be gluten-free.

We're making a Honeysuckle White turkey. The packaging states that it is free of MSG and gluten and their website confirms that the majority of their products are gluten-free with a few exceptions which they list.

The following Jennie-O Turkeys are gluten free:
Natural Choice Prime Young Turkey, Premium Basted Young Turkey, Fresh Young Turkey

The HoneyBaked Ham Co. has changed their glazes on the signature meats to be gluten-free. You can enjoy the HoneyBaked Ham, Sliced & Glazed Turkey Boneless Ham.
You can search their site for additional nutrition information. The new glaze contains modified food starch which is corn based.

1 comment:

Liz said...

Great info! I'm always surprised when I see wheat in the glaze of hams; you'd think it wouldn't need it. Thanks Stacey!